top of page

Rosberg X Racing make history by winning the inaugural Extreme E Championship!

Dorset, 19 December 2021. Rosberg X Racing are the inaugural Extreme E Champions following a dramatic finale in Dorset at the Jurassic X Prix. With 155 points and three wins across the whole season, the team has claimed the first-ever championship title.

RXR produced yet another masterclass in tenacity and strategy, staying focused on the long-term goal of the championship final. Molly Taylor and Johan Kristoffersson were confronted with a challenging course and last-minute reliability concerns when the team had to replace the inverter with the RXR ODYSSEY 21 making it to the start line just in time. Taylor and Kristoffersson remained unfazed, bringing the car home as championship winners.

Following Saturday’s qualifying sessions, Kristoffersson took to the wheel first in Semi-Final 2, powering off from the start, making impressive use of hyperdrive to immediately take the lead. Navigating the muddy course with limited visibility due to heavy fog, Kristoffersson stretched his lead from Acciona, Sainz XE and ABT Cupra, handing the ODYSSEY 21 over to Taylor with almost a seven-second lead. It then remained for Molly to deliver a clinical and clean lap to secure RXR’s position in the final, which she managed with ease.

RXR headed into the five-team championship-deciding final in the Gate 2 starting position, next to title contenders X44, with Taylor taking the opening two laps. She had a strong start, driving conservatively to ensure there were no errors and no damage before handing the car over to teammate Kristoffersson in fourth position. He headed out on the final lap of the season, showcasing his racing pedigree to maintain fourth place and cross the finish line as winners of the inaugural Extreme E season.

Championship-winner and Rosberg X Racing driver, Molly Taylor, said: “It feels amazing to be the first-ever championship winners of Extreme E. This season has been brutal, racing in some of the most remote parts of the world in truly extreme conditions but we’ve worked together as a team and we’re delighted with this result. The nerves were definitely there today but Johan and I kept our eyes on the final prize, and the whole team effort across many months has brought us to this point today.”

Johan Kristoffersson, Rosberg X Racing driver, added: “It’s fantastic; this has been a new racing series, new team, and new locations but we’ve worked so hard to get here and to be Champions really feels amazing. Molly drove excellently today, managing the challenging conditions and I knew that all that remained for me was to not make any mistakes and bring the car home safely. We’re delighted to be champions and look forward to celebrating with the team.”

Rosberg X Racing Founder and CEO, Nico Rosberg, commented after the race: “We are so delighted to be crowned the inaugural Extreme E Champions and I am really proud of the entire Rosberg X Racing team. The team has worked so hard all season and performed consistently, racing in some of the world’s most remote locations. To be Champions is such an honour. A massive congratulations to our drivers, Molly Taylor and Johan Kristoffersson, who have been excellent all season. We came into Extreme E to raise awareness of climate change, and promote sustainability, but also as a racing team, we want to win and so we will remember this feeling forever.”

Jurassic X Prix Final_release
Download PDF • 37KB


bottom of page